Need Help?

Skip to Content

CCA Portal


Last updated on Aug 17, 2021

CCA's Industrial Design Program has given rise to many award-winning designers among its students, faculty, and alumni.

IDSA Western District Student Merit Award
Core77 Design Awards
Red Dot Awards
Spark Awards
INTL Design Excellence Awards (IDEA)
Braun Prize
A’ Design Award & Competition

Just in the last two years alone, an impressive array of CCA industrial designers have been recognized and honored in national and international competitions.

This page highlights those talented, award-winning CCA designers.

IDSA Western District Student Merit Award

Every year IDSA (Industrial Designers Society of America) supports the student community through the annual Student Merit Award program that runs in the winter/spring and culminates in presentations from the students at the five District Design Dialogue Conferences.

The goal of the District Design Conferences are to provide an opportunity for students, educators and professionals to meet, discuss and form new relationships around important topics that are on the minds of the profession.

A single winner is chosen from the presentations made at each of the five conferences, and the winners are invited to attend IDSA's International Conference as part of their reward, where they are honored and get to meet prospective employers.

Charlie Weber (2013)
Haley Toelle (2012)
Gabriel Lamb (2008)
Soyun Kim (2007)

Core77 Design Awards

Recognizing excellence in all areas of design enterprise, the Core77 Design Awards celebrates the richness of the design profession and the brilliance of its practitioners.

The awards include 17 categories of entry, providing designers, researchers, and writers a unique opportunity to communicate the intent, rigor, and passion behind their efforts.

From client work to self-initiated projects, entrepreneurial to pro-bono engagements, the award embraces a diverse range of enterprise: commercial, cultural, social, environmental, and edifying.

Both the Professional and Student Winners within each category receive the C77DA trophy, and all honorees are published in the Awards Gallery and on the Core77 site, making this the most inclusive and celebratory design awards platform of the digital age.

Daye Kim (Soft Good Student winner, 2012)
Henry Wu and Yanika Tinaphongs (Soft Goods Student runner-up, 2012)
Zara Dramov (Soft Goods Notable Student, 2012)
Nari Hwang (Furniture and Lighting runner-up, 2012)
Jean Lin (Student Notable, consumer products, 2012)
Kevin Cheng (Student Notable, product/equipment, 2011)

Red Dot Award

Red Dot is an internationally renowned design award that recognizes excellence in product design, design concept, and communication design.

Emilie Cevallos, Winner 2021

Spark Awards

The Spark mission is to promote better living through better design. The criteria are the same for all Spark competitions: Does the design “spark” (i.e., innovate, change the game, and in some way help humanity or the environment we live in)?

The Spark founders believe design is an important, relevant tool to help build a better world, and designers act as catalysts, addressing problems and improving our lives and our planet.

Carlos Dominguez (Concept finalist, 2013)
Diamond Ho (Concept finalist, 2013)
Patima Pataramekin (Concept finalist, 2013)
Yeban Shin (Concept finalist, 2013)
Jom Sirimongkolkasem (Concept finalist, 2013)
Yanika Tinaphongs (Concept finalist, 2013)
Nari Hwang (Silver Concept Award, 2012)
Henry Wu and Yanika Tinaphongs (Concept finalists, 2012)

International Design Excellence Awards (IDEA)

The IDEA competition is a celebration of design excellence in products, sustainability, interaction design, packaging, strategy, research, and concepts presented by the IDSA.

This year, out of 687 finalists, 27 were honored with a Gold IDEA, while 45 received a Silver IDEA, and 106 merited a Bronze IDEA.

Jom Sirimongkolkasem (Silver Student Award, 2013)

Braun Prize

Learn more about the Braun Prize »

Nari Hwang (2012)

A’ Design Award & Competition

Learn more about the A' Design Award and competition »

Patrick Mulcahy (Golden A’ Sports, Entertainment and Recreation Equipment Design category, 2013)
Ian Hughes (Silver A’ Sports, Entertainment and Recreation Equipment Design category, 2013)