Need Help?

Skip to Content

CCA Portal

Faculty Governance

Last updated on Aug 02, 2023

The Faculty Senate, an independent body of the college, as well as the three standing committees, provide recommendations to the president and/or provost.

Three standing committees comprise faculty governance:

  • Executive Committee (EC)
  • Curriculum Committee (CC)
  • Appointments, Promotion, and Tenure Committee (APT)

Each committee has a membership of nine faculty members, voted on by the Faculty Senate. The term of service is generally three academic years, and terms are staggered so that there are three new faculty appointed to each committee, effective with the commencement of each academic year. There are approximately 27 faculty members serving on the standing committees.

College service is required of all ranked full-time faculty. Committee service and other service to the college are considered in all tenure and promotion actions. Committees should have a goal of representative membership from each area of the college.

The Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate is composed of all ranked and non-probationary unranked faculty (those with more than two semesters of teaching at CCA). Probationary unranked faculty and emeritus faculty may attend meetings and contribute their views, but may not vote.

The Faculty Senate meets at least once a semester at the behest of the Senate president. Additional meetings may be called by majority vote of the Senate Executive Committee, or by petition of 20 percent of the Faculty Senate membership, or by the Provost.

More information on the Faculty Senate

The Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is composed of the faculty senate President, vice president, and nine members of the faculty senate, each serving a three-year appointment. The EC meets on a monthly basis, on alternating campuses, or at the initiative of the Senate President, or both.

More information on the Executive Committee

The Appointments, Promotion, and Tenure Committee

The Appointments, Promotions, and Tenure Committee is composed of nine faculty senate members. All members must have been at the college for a minimum of seven calendar years, and serve three year terms. APT meets on a biweekly basis on alternating campuses.

More information on the Appointments, Promotion, and Tenure Committee

The Curriculum Committee

The Curriculum Committee membership is composed of active faculty representing the diverse cultures of the college. Members typically serve a three-year term. CC meets on a monthly basis, on alternating campuses.

More information on the Curriculum Committee