Need Help?

Skip to Content

CCA Portal


Last updated on Dec 19, 2023

Suggested Course Map

B.Arch Concentrations

The B.Arch program offers three optional concentrations that capitalize on faculty’s expertise and specialized research labs. Students who declare a concentration focus on either Digital Craft, Urban Works, or History/Theory/Experiments during their final two years of coursework. A portion of their advanced studios and seminars directly tie to ongoing initiatives in the Digital Craft Lab, Urban Works Agency, or Experimental History Project. These architecture labs are deeply engaged with research, material innovation, and experimental practices.

Learning Outcomes

The requirements, reviews, and curriculum for CCA's Bachelors of Architecture program are designed such that graduating students successfully achieve the program learning outcomes as defined by the standards of the the National Architecture Accrediting Board (NAAB)


The Bachelor and Master of Architecture degrees awarded by California College of the Arts are accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) and by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC).

NAAB Accreditation

The NAAB states that:

“In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure.

"The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with US regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture.

"A program may be granted an eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards. At the end of the 2016 NAAB accreditation visit, CCA's B.Arch and M.Arch programs were accredited for a full 8-year term.

"Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a preprofessional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.”

California College of the Arts offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs:

BArch (159 undergraduate credits)

MArch (non-preprofessional degree + 90 credits)

Next accreditation visit for both programs: 2025

NAAB Conditions & Procedures

NAAB Reports: APRs & VTRs

WASC Accreditation

California College of the Arts is also accredited by the Accrediting Commission for Senior Colleges and Universities of the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC), 985 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 100, Alameda CA 94501, 510.748.9001,

Architect Registration Examination Pass Rates

For the most recent Architect Registration Examination (ARE) Pass Rates for California College of the Arts, visit the NCARB website.

Program Advising

Undergraduate students should meet with Academic Advising regularly to review academic progress towards degree completion. Advisors also provide students with the support, resources, and tools that will allow them to excel.

Internship Support

All Architecture students have access to an Internship Coordinator who assists students in completing the mandatory internship requirement.

Career Development

All students at California College of the Arts have access to the Career Development center for services related to developing, evaluating, and implementing their internship and career plans.

Student Diversity Initiatives

As an educational and cultural institution, California College of the Arts has a responsibility to provide access and opportunities for all people, with special attention to supporting groups historically underrepresented in higher education.

We believe that a culturally diverse campus is integral to academic excellence, and our student, faculty, staff, and trustee bodies should reflect the diverse world in which we live, with attention to race, ethnicity, religious creed, national origin, age, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, and ability.

For more information, see CCA Diversity Resources.